Notification issued for 97 LS seats in Phase II


New Delhi : The Election Commission on Tuesday issued a notification for the second phase of the seven-phased Lok Sabha elections, kicking off the process of filing of nominations for another 97 constituencies across 13 states and Union Territories.

Voting in the second phase will take place on April 18, said the notification, which comes a day after the poll panel notified the first phase covering 91 constituencies.

The Lok Sabha has 543 elected seats and the polls will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.

According to the EC notification, nominations for the second phase would be accepted till March 26, while March 29 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

While all 39 Lok Sabha constituencies of Tamil Nadu will go to the polls on April 18, the other states where voting will take place in this phase include Karnataka (14 seats), Maharashtra (10), Uttar Pradesh (8), Assam (5), Bihar (5), Odisha (5), Chhattisgarh (3), West Bengal (3), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Manipur (1), Tripura (1) and Puducherry (1).


Related Articles

Back to top button