More than 50 Universities Signed Pact with USTM at the end National Conference of VCs

9th Mile, Khanapara, Ri Bhoi, March 27, 2023: A historic moment was created at the Central Auditorium of the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya (USTM) when 53 universities from across India and abroad signed Memorandums of Understanding with USTM on the last day of the 3-day-long National Conference of Vice Chancellors-2023 which ended on Saturday, 25th March. The universities extended their hands to USTM for academic collaboration and exchange. The MoUs were signed by Prof GD Sharma, Vice Chancellor USTM and the Vice Chancellors of the respective universities.

In this context, Shri Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor of USTM, said, “We feel honoured as so many universities have come forward and joined hands with us to work collaboratively for the country’s development”. The different universities have diverse backgrounds—sports, culture, pharmacy, ayurveda, etc., apart from academics and research.


As per the agreements signed, there will be collaborations between the partner universities in launching joint research activities, including the exchange of faculty members and research personnel, collaboration in various training programmes, introduction of value-added courses/ programmes and add-on courses directed towards skill enhancement. The universities have agreed to facilitate adequate student exposure through field trips/ visits.


It was also agreed that there would be exchanges of academic and other publications, apart from organising joint conferences, seminars and academic meetings. The introduction of study abroad programme (SAP), summer semester for credit transfer and three continent programmes for global exposure and credit transfer are also included in the pact.


Some of the collaborating universities include Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi; Kathmandu University, Nepal; Jadavpur University, Kolkata; Amity University, Uttar Pradesh; Dr Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow; Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur; National Law University, Rajasthan; IILM Gurugram, ISBM University, Chhattisgarh; Dhanamanjuri University, Manipur; Sastra Deemed University, Tamilnadu; Central University of Haryana, Karnavati University, Ahmedabad, Birla Global University, Bhubaneswar; Delhi Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research University, New Delhi.

The agreement will continue until terminated by agreement between the parties. In the event of termination, the relevant parties will honour all commitments to students participating in the programme, according to the agreements.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *